Licensing

 

FAQ on Licensing (sourced from WIPO)

What is Licence agreement?

A licensing agreement is a partnership between an intellectual property rights owner (licensor) and another who is authorized to use such rights (licensee) in exchange for an agreed payment (fee or royalty). A variety of such licensing agreements are available, which may be broadly categorized as follows:

  • Technology License Agreement
  • Trademark Licensing and Franchising Agreement
  • Copyright License Agreement

In practice, all or some of these agreements often form part of one single contract since in transfers of this nature many rights are involved and not simply one type of intellectual property right. You may also come across licensing agreements in other circumstances, such as, during a merger or acquisition, or in the course of negotiating a joint venture.

All of these mechanisms either on their own or in combination will provide your SME, as a licensor or licensee, a wide variety of possibilities in conducting business in your own country or elsewhere. As an intellectual property owner and a licensor, your SME can expand its business to the frontiers of your partners’ business and ensure a steady stream of additional income. As a licensee, your SME can manufacture, sell, import, export, distribute and market various goods or services which it may be prevented from doing otherwise.

In the international context, a formal licensing agreement is possible only if the intellectual property right you wish to license is also protected in the other country or countries of interest to you. If your intellectual property is not protected in such other country or countries then you would not only not be able to license it, but also you would have no legal right to put any restriction on its use by anyone else.

知識産權許可

 

知識產權許可-常見問題 (摘自世界知識產權組織)

a. 什麼是許可協定?

許可協定是知識產權權利所有人(許可人)和另外一個獲得授權使用這些權利的人(被許可人)之間以約定支付費用(費用或使用費)爲交換而建立的合夥關係。這類的協定多種多樣,從廣義上可以分爲以下幾類:

  • 技術許可協定
  • 商標許可和特許經營協定
  • 版權許可協定

實踐中,鑒於在這種性質的轉讓中涉及很多權利而不僅僅是一種知識産權,所有的或者部分上述協定通常構成某一單份合同的一部分。你可能在其他情況也看到許可協定,比如,在合併或收購時,或在建立合資企業的談判過程中。

所有這些方式單獨或結合在一起爲你的中小企業(作爲許可人或被許可人)提供了在自己的國家或在其他地方開展業務的各種可能性。作爲知識産權的所有人和許可人,你的中小企業就能夠將業務拓展到你的合作人的經營範圍並保證獲得穩定的額外收入。作爲一個被許可人,你的中小企業能夠製造、銷售、進口、出口、分銷和推銷各種商品和服務,否則可能是不允許這樣做的。

在國際層面上,只有當你願意許可的知識産權在其他國家或你感興趣的國家也得到保護的時候,才可能簽定正式的許可合同。如果你的知識産權在其他(這類)國家不受保護,則你不僅不能進行許可,而且也沒有對他人的使用施加任何限制的法律權利。